17th oct. 2020


Navratri is a nine-day festival in which nine forms of Goddess Durga
are worshipped. It is one of the most significant festivals celebrated by
Hindus all across India.
There are a total of four Navratris in a year,
but only two - Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri are celebrated widely.
People in different parts of the country celebrate this same festival differently.
Though they worship the same deity, performing differet rituals.
'Navratri' in Sanskrit means 'nine nights'.
On these nine nights, people observe fast and offer special prayer to
the 'Nine Forms of Maa Durga'.
Goddess Durga is an incarnation of Goddess Parvati. She took the avatar of
Devi Durga to destroy Mahishasura.

1. Navratri Day 1: Goddess Shailaputri:
Shailaputri’ means the daughter of mountains also known as Sati Bhavani, Parvati or
Hemavati.  ‘Shail’ means mountains and ‘Putri’ means daughter. She is the first among
Navadurgas and devotees worship her on the first day of Navaratri.
Goddess Shailaputri symbolizes the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva.
She is quite recognizable as she rides a bull and carries a trident along with a lotus
in her hands. According to Hindu mythology, Shailaputri is believed to be
the rebirth of Sati. She was the daughter of Daksha and the wife of Lord Shiva.
Shailaputri is associated with Lord Shiva. Red is the color of the day.

2. Navratri Day 2: Goddess Brahmacharini:
Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri festival.
This is the second form of Durga who took various births to attain
Lord Shiva as her husband. Brahmacharini also known as Tapashcharini, Aparna and Uma.
She symbolizes spirituality and meditation. Goddess Brahmacharini holds a rosary
in her right hand and a water utensil in her left hand. On this day, women in India
observe a rigorous fast to attain peace, prosperity and happiness.

3. Navratri Day 3: Goddess Chandraghanta:
Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of Navratri.  
She is also known as Chandrakhanda, Chandika or Ramchandi.
Her name resembles crescent moon which is worn by her on the head.
Chandraghanta, totally different from that of Durga, who shows her angry side
when provoked. Devotees believe that this Goddess blesses them with
a  lot of courage and bravery.

4. Navratri Day 4: Goddess Kushmanda:
Goddess Kushmanda the fourth form of the Hindu goddess Durga worshipped on
the fourth day of Navratri. Ku means little, Ushma means energy and Anda means
cosmic egg. It is believed that the darkness in the universe ended with her
divine smile and then there was the beautiful beginning of creation.

5. Navratri Day 5: Goddess Skanda Mata:
Goddess Skanda Mata, is the fifth form of Goddess Durga and Skanda means
Kartikeya and Mata means mother. She grants her devotees with wisdom, power
and prosperity. She is also regarded as The Goddess of Fire.

6. Navratri Day 6: Goddess Katyayani:
Katyayani, the sixth form of Goddess Durga  is also known as a Warrior Goddess. 
It is said that she eventually led to slaying the demon, Mahishasura and then
mounted the lion given to her by Goddess Gauri.

7. Navratri Day 7: Goddess Kalaratri:
Kalaratri, the seventh form of Durga who is known for destroying ignorance
and removing darkness from the universe. Kalaratri or Shubhamkari – is the violent
form of Goddess Durga. It is said that she licked the blood of demon Rakta Beeja,
who had the potential to create demons from his blood.
This form of Goddess depicts the darker side of life.

8. Navratri Day 8: Goddess Mahagauri:
Mahagauri the eighth avatar of Goddess Durga who is known as a ray of lightning.
According to myths, she performed rigid Tapas without moving her body.
Due to which heavy amount of soil and dust got collected on her body and
Lord Shiva cleaned her with water from Ganga river.
Therefore, purity is depicted in this form of Durga.

9. Navratri Day 9: Goddess Siddhidatri:
Siddhidatri, ninth avatar of Mother Goddess who provides knowledge to her devotees.
The knowledge that she provides makes one realise that it is only her who exists,
in short she is the supreme power of all perfect things. In this form she is seated
on a lotus flower and holds variety of things in her hands including
lotus, mace, conch shell and discus.

           Source :NET